CCR Exif v1.5.3 + Android app based on it in Google Play

Recently I have committed some updates to CCR Exif (my open source image metadata parsing library) that get it working with Delphi XE5, and in particular, Delphi for Android. In the main, that wasn’t hard to do – in one place I’d (mis)used the Objects property of a TStrings instance to hold casted enum values, which is a no-no under ARC, but otherwise things (with the odd [Weak] added) were fine. Well, fine with one major caveat: the code needs Andreas Hausladen’s patch to restore AnsiChar, PAnsiChar and UTF8String. Bluntly, if support for those types really does go away in XE6, then I’ll just have to say the code will support Delphi for mobile in XE5 and XE5 only, because I’m not going to crappify it.

The whole issue is a shame, because the general language and RTL compatibility between platforms (Windows/OS X/iOS/Android) and frameworks (FMX/VCL) is excellent. For example, for reading XMP metadata, my Exif code uses the IDOMxxx interfaces, the lower-level counterpart to the rather more heavyweight TXMLDocument. Both are available to use whatever the platform. Another example: at various points the FMX platform code for Android needs to wait on another thread (the Java thread) finishing a method call. What does it use for the task? Why, TEvent, using exactly the same method calls you might have made in a VCL project ten years ago.

Anyhow, proof of the pudding, I’ve written up an Exif editing app and put it on Google Play – it’s called Exif Inspector and is available here:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.contiguity.ExifInspector&hl=en

Brickbats welcomed, partly because you’ll have to pay a small amount to make them 😉

7 thoughts on “CCR Exif v1.5.3 + Android app based on it in Google Play

    • Well… if you don’t want to pay a pound in UK money, you can always download the parsing code and rewrite the UI yourself 😉 . To be honest, the reason I haven’t put the source up as an additional demo for the library is not because I’m precious about it (I’ll probably blog about key aspects, e.g. custom dialogs in FMX for mobile), but because the interface changes FMX receives release-to-release make it difficult to maintain a single set of form files for different versions.

    • I’m in correspondence with a person about a possible bug – if that comes to anything, I’ll make changes then tag it.

  1. Pingback: Add GPS Location EXIF Metadata To JPEGs In Delphi XE5 Firemonkey On Android And IOS | Delphi XE5 Firemonkey, Delphi Android, Delphi IOS

  2. Chris,

    I use your latest CCR.Exif 1.5.1 with Delphi XE 7 and some photos generate an Assertion failure ( CCR.Exif.pas, line 5802 ) when I try to change/patch the DateTime property.

Leave a comment